top of page

Dave Brubeck: Lullabies

Yesterday, Verve Records announced the release of Lullabies, a collection of cover songs and original compositions from, Dave Brubeck. The last recorded solo album from the jazz giant, the album showcases his signature improvisational style on well-known children's songs, beloved standards and originals. Lullabies will be available worldwide on November 6th and the first track "Brahms Lullaby" is out now.

Dave recorded this collection of music as a gift to his grandchildren and as his last studio recording.  The album not only will appeal to jazz fans but to their whole family.  At the time of the recording, Brubeck commented on the project and his hopes for the compilation. "Some of the melodies on this album are like those familiar songs," says Brubeck.  "Some are original pieces that I thought would appeal to babies as well as an older generation. I hope the littlest ones will respond to this music, and that parents and grandparents will enjoy it as well."

There is five original tracks , "Going to Sleep," "Lullaby For Iola," "Koto Song," "Softly, William, Softly," and "Briar Bush." Timeless classics such as "Somewhere over the Rainbow," "A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes," "Danny Boy," and "Summertime" are also featured on the album. With Brubeck's centennial rapidly approaching "Lullabies" is an album that celebrates Brubeck in a way everyone can enjoy. 

27 views0 comments
bottom of page